If you shop at Amazon.com (for anything), use this link to support FordTaurus.net!

Ford Taurus flakes in oil

bagwellbill

Ford Taurus flakes in oil

Post by bagwellbill » Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:48 am

So, my 2005 ford taurus 3.0 OHV SE had small metal flakes in the oil the other day when I decided to change it. It has 156,xxx miles and it runs pretty decent besides a rough idle but thats the idle sensor valve thing. Also it has an exhaust leak but that's besides the point. It runs great besides the gas mileage and I've replaced the spark plugs, wires, and air filter. It's been crappy since I've got it which was about 7-8 months ago. I sadly haven't replaced the oil up until now. I've put about 7 grand on it since ive got it. I do run it kinda hard sometimes, which I regret now and will no longer do so because, well I'm a delivery driver and my car is my job. I don't have a way to cut the oil filter open to look inside but, I'm thinking it's one of the rod bearings got spun. I have no real reasoning for it but it seems the most common for a hard ran car. it had 149,xxx I think when i got it. so any info would help on what the metal is from. It was more flakes than a sandy kinda metal. Thanks in advance.

-Bill

BillR

Re: Ford Taurus flakes in oil

Post by BillR » Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:48 pm

Metal in the oil is not a good thing. You can cut the filter top off with a hacksaw but I don't think you will find much except more metal.

If you spun a rod bearing you would be hearing a higher pitched knocking in the engine. If you spun a main bearing the sound would be a lower pitched knock deeper down in the engine.

Either way the only cure is the engine has to come apart or be replaced or rebuilt. I would never suggest any sort of repair without an engine pull down and soaking the block in a cleaning tank, that's the only way to remove the metal particles from all the oil passages.